Review: Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

clockwork20princess_zpsh9xawvxo

5 out of 5 Clockwork Stars

This is the 3rd and final book in The Infernal Devices trilogy.

Oh. My. God. This is my 2nd time through this series, and it was even better the 2nd time. I am not a sappy person – I hate sap or excessive cheese. I’m a fan of a well done romance – but now we come to that word. A lot of people complain about the romance – there is a love triangle. This is the only love triangle I’ve ever been a fan of. It has its flaws, but I can’t give it less than 5 stars – because the trip you go on through this book and the amazing roller coaster it takes you on is absolutely delicious. I feel like “romance” is almost an insult, because to me this is a great love story, woven into an amazing fantasy.

It begins with a bang that is exciting and hysterically funny…. and sad… no, it’s mostly funny, because you gotta hate the Lightwoods, right? Right? I kinda hate the Lightwoods…. in this series, anyway, because Benedict Lightwood is a jerk and half. Let’s just say he gets his and Will loves it. It’s sad for his kids, but this cements our crew as they fight together side by side. There is a scrawled warning left on a wall that warns them that The Infernal Devices are without pity, and they are coming.

There is still a faction working behind Charlotte’s back. It’s kinda weird, and something that feels like it comes out of left field. But when the devices (Mortmain’s automatons) attack and kidnap Tessa, the institute is left on its own, with no support. And so much is going on. Jem’s health  has taken a bad turn and Mortmaine has monopolized all the yin fin. Will is still in love with Tessa and trying to deny it for Jem’s sake and their impending wedding. Will’s sister Cecily is trying to make him come home, but she’s also finding her footing as a Shadowhunter. Sophie and Gideon are trying to find their way around a relationship. And of course, Tessa is gone!

Since they  can’t get any help, Will goes after Tessa. This is one of the best parts of the book. We have Tessa, kidnapped by Mortmaine’s minions and heading off God knows where, Will racing after her, and all that is going on back at the institute between the forces against Charlotte. There is even some betrayals inside the institute. The tension is just amazing. We’ve also got everyone trying to save Jem, so Magnus comes into the picture. He’s one of my favorite in all of the Shadowhunter world. We learn so much backstory, about Mortmaine, who Tessa’s family really is, and her clockwork angel.

This is just one of the best finales I’ve ever read. Some people think there is too much fan service in the epilogue. But the tears, man. I feel like for all the tears I shed, I deserved that ending. I started crying like halfway through and hardly stopped. And I mean ugly crying. Like I said in the beginning – I don’t like cheese or overly done sappy romance – that is not this. Or this is not that – however you wanna put it. It’s just a bunch of beautiful love stories, one that endures through time. The best way to read this series in in conjunction with The Mortal Instruments, by publication date – otherwise, you can spoil yourself on both series. But it’s so good, and so worth reading all the books. I understand there is going to be another series set in the generation just after this one – I won’t say who is involved so as not to spoil you – but let’s say it’s relations to those we know. 🙂

I can’t recommend these books enough.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

