How July Went & TBR for Booktube-A-Thon

I have a couple things to talk about regarding the end of June. And I want to talk about August.

REGARDING JULY

First: Camp for National Novel Writing Month. I did OK. I didn’t finish my edit/revision of my novel but I did work 16 days out of the month. That is nowhere near good enough. I want to work at least 6 days out of every week, which means a minimum of 24 days in a month. šŸ˜¦ I want to do better next month.

SecondĀ – I did the TBR Takedown Read-A-Thon. I had a list of 5 books but when it started, I had already begun Shirley by Charlotte Bronte and didn’t want to put it down. It took me the whole first two days of the read-a-thon. The other threeĀ I read were Brideshead Revisited by Evelyn Waugh, The Kingmakers by Clay and Susan Griffith, and What the Witch Left by Ruth Chew. I exchanged Made for You by Melissa Marr for the Witch book and did not get A Natural History of Dragons read, but I am reading it now.

Third: I only missed a couple of days of journalling. My goal is to journal (well, it’s a diary. I don’t do them fancy, artistic journals, I just write my thoughts) and I want to do that every day.

Fourth: I did awesome on my Tumblr book photo challenge, and I want to continue to keep up with it. If you want to see my Tumblr it’s HERE.

REGARDING AUGUST

I need to lighten up. I have this weird thing about my reading where I want to join ALL THE READALONG AND ALL THE READ-A-THONS. So why do I do the read-a-thons? Because I don’t want to lose my reading among my writing. The first thing to go when I’m writing is my reading. And I don’t want to lose that.

I also have this idea of books I HAVE TO READ. Why? Why do I feel this way? Who the fuck is watching what I read??? I need to just read what I want and not put this crazy pressure on myself.

The reason I bring this up is that tomorrow is the beginning of the Booktube-A-Thon, a week long read-a-thon. I tend to see the “challenges” of any read-a-thon as hard set rules and there’s no reason to do that. If I do one challenge, I feel like if I don’t do ALL THE CHALLENGES it doesn’t count. And that’s silly. I just need to read.

So here are the list of books I’m going to read for Booktube-A-Thon, and I’m ignoring all the challenges.

Made for You by Melissa Marr
You by Caroline Kepnes
Beauty and the Beast by Bayard Taylor
Pain, Parties, Work by Elizabeth Winder
Discount Armageddon by Seanan McGuire
The Tropic of Serpents by Marie Brennan
The Servants by M.M. Smith

The only “challenge” is that I picked 7 books to read. I don’t know that I’ll get through them all.

Anyway, here it to making goals that make sense and don’t cause stress! Do you ever put un-needed pressure on yourself? I would love to hear about it in the comments.

Leave a Reply

