Remembering What the Witch Left by Ruth Chew

Oh my God, I’m geeking out right now! When my parents retired and moved house, they began pulling out old boxes from the cellar. A couple of them were moldy oldies… and much of what was in them had to be thrown out. However, I found a wonderful chunk of my childhood books. My two favorites were witch oriented, and one of them was there – The Little Witch by Anna Elizabeth Bennet. then there was Ping, and Bunnicula and Sad Day, Glad Day, a real heartbreaker about a dollie. But the one I really hoped would be there was not. I was a little heartbroken and I’ve been looking for that book for years.

I would have sworn the book I was looking for was called The Witch’s Wardrobe. I know. I know, you think I mean the Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, and I’ve blamed C.S. Lewis and the glut of info about it on the internet for my inability to find this book! It’s not about a kid who goes through a magical wardrobe, it’s about a wardrobe that used to belong to a witch!

The story is the little girl’s aunt was moving and didn’t have room for her wardrobe (only this was more of a big bureau than what they had in the Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe.) The only place they have to put it is in the little girl’s room. She’s told not to open the bottom drawer, and as it is conveniently locked, she manages to avoid it for awhile. Now I don’t remember how the idea that her aunt is a witch is introduced, but she assumes the items inside the drawer are dangerous. Only, somehow or other, she gets it open and she and her friend find all sorts of regular objects that happen to have magical properties. Then, of course, go on all kinds of adventures.

I just decided to plug in a few words into the old search engine – I knew the story had a invisibility cloak, a pair of 7 league boots and the girls used the boots and met a little girl named Pilar who sold them a darling little tea set. So I plug in invisibility, seven league boots and Pilar into the Google and up it comes! What the Witch Left by Ruth Chew. As soon as I saw the title, I was like THAT’S IT! I even recognized the author’s name.

I’m so excited because it’s still in print and available from Amazon and the Book Depository. I’m definitely going to be shelling out the six bucks to have this back in my life.

One thought on “Remembering What the Witch Left by Ruth Chew

Leave a Reply

